Editor's Choice

20 AAP MLAs disqualified for holding office of profit!

AAP MLAs Disqualified

Shri Ram Nath Kovind, The Honourable president of India, disqualified 20 AAP MLAs on Sunday 21 Jan 2018.

This was done based on the recommendation of the Election commission of India after it found them guilty of holding an office of profit despite being an elected legislative member.


The whole issue is that AAP or Aam Aadmi Party, after coming to power in Delhi, had assigned certain secretary-level posts to MLAs that had been elected.

This was then challenged in the court which asked the election commission of India to look into the matter and take necessary actions.

AS PER THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA, no elected member of legislative assembly or parliament, can occupy a post or job from which he/she can get a salary or other monetary/non-monetary benefits.

This has been in the constitution to avoid misuse of power obtained from being an MLA or MP.

20 AAP MLAs were hence found guilty of this and hence have now been disqualified.


Though it might look like a harsh decision, considering that no AAP MLA took any monetary gains from their posts, but it is not a wrong decision.

Aam Aadmi Party says that it is a wrong decision since they have not misused the post. They have not taken any monetary or non-monetary gains from the second post that they held.

However, they are forgetting that they still broke the law.

The law, according to our constitution, does not allow them to be on the posts that they were having along with being an MLA.

Even if they have not misused their power, they cannot be left without punishment. Otherwise, in future, other MLAs of other parties in other states may also start doing the same thing.

AAP chief Mr. Arvind Kejriwal should have clearly known this law and avoided breaking it.

Unfortunately, he didn't. He thought they could get away with it and now they are paying the price.


Now, since these 20 AAP MLAs have been disqualified, their seats will become vacant. So re-elections will be conducted on these seats to elect new MLAs.

Election commission of India will decide when that will happen.

What do you think? 

Is it a harsh decision or a correct one?

I am an ardent Techie and a Free Thinker. I love to explore new topics and technologies, and share my knowledge and views with the world.
Follow Me: Twitter | Instagram


Get Latest Posts Delivered to your Email

Popular posts from this blog

Dengue Fever | Symptoms, Prevention & Treatment | Health tips

Rahul Gandhi is wrong about Narendra Modi | Elections 2019

What is Input Tax Credit or ITC | GST India